Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

IyanlaVanzant-ShareYourStory

“Everything we told Ryan was communicated in love…love interwoven with an awful lot of fear. But it was, honestly, love. We believed with all of our hearts that his very soul was in danger, and so we were doing everything we could to protect him. But our pleas for him to reject his sexuality in favor of seeking obedience to Christ only led to DEATH. Relational death, spiritual death, emotional death and PHYSICAL death. Not one OUNCE of good fruit came from trying to live those ideas out. Seriously, not one. When I look back, I can’t think of anything positive that came from our efforts to convince our son that he could – and should – be straight. Or if not straight, then completely celibate for the rest of his life on this earth.” -Linda Robertson

I connected with Linda Mueller Robertson last summer shortly after her piece in Huffington Post went viral.

I’m excited about the journey she is on, the way she is growing because of the relationships she is forming and the stories she is listening to. I love her humility and willingness to be transformed. Her story is tremendously sad AND tremendously uplifting … all at the same time.

My friends and family members know that I am passionate about making the world a better, kinder, safer, more loving place for LGBT people and it is obvious Linda has the same passion.

I admire the way her and Rob are willing to be vulnerable so their mistakes and painful loss can be used to help others do something different and better – that isn’t an easy thing to do.

I’m so thankful they are willing to do the hard work of coming out with their regrets by telling their story honestly and openly because their story is changing hearts and minds and to me that looks like redemption.

Linda and Rob completely embody the idea that in order to change the world we have to first be willing to allow ourselves to be changed.

I’m honored to be on this journey with Linda.


I hope you will take the time to read Linda’s latest post “Coming out with regrets – Counting on Redemption

