Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Stories have the power to change the world … they inspire us, teach us, connect us. This is the fourteenth installment in the “Stories That Change The World” series.

I have a private Facebook group for moms of lgbt kids. We have more than 600 moms in the group and it keeps growing. It’s a wonderful community of moms who are trying to be the best moms they can be and who love their kids fiercely. It’s great to have a place like our private Facebook group where we can share the good and bad times … a place where we can both give and get a lot of support, encouragement and wisdom.

Denise Trainer Webb, one of the moms in our group, shared this story in our group recently. It’s a great example of the things the moms in our group are doing in their corner of the world to make a difference. 

WW

Today my husband and I were given the opportunity to speak to my daughter’s high school GSA club.

We told them about PFLAG.

I asked the room of 30+ students WHO had heard of PFLAG before.

Only 4 hands were raised.

That made me sad but it also made me happy that we could share about this wonderful support group with these kids.

After telling them about PFLAG the group dispersed and a girl came over and asked me…”Can I have a hug?”

I said,”Absolutely!”

I hugged her and found out from her that she is a lesbian and is not out to her parents. Her eyes filled with tears.

We shared our journey with her …  we shared that I cried for a couple weeks after finding out my daughter was a lesbian. We shared it was a tough road to take but in the long run it paid off beautifully. We told her that she is brave. I gave her some PFLAG booklets.

She was such a sweet girl. My heart breaks for her.

We don’t know if she will be coming out to her parents anytime soon, but when she does… I’m hoping it goes well.

On our drive home from the GSA meeting… my daughter said, “I think it was good you and dad came and talked today.”

From the mouth of my 17 year old lesbian daughter that was music to my ears.

At that moment, I felt like Wonder Woman.

It was a good day to be a mom for me.

If you are interested in joining the private Facebook group for Christian moms of LGBT kids send an email to me at lizdyer55@gmail.com and put Mom’s Facebook Group as the subject. The group presently has more than 600 members and is a place where moms of lgbt kids share a lot of support, encouragement and information with one another. 

