Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Stories have the power to change the world … they inspire us, teach us, connect us. This is the seventeenth installment in the “Stories That Change The World” series.

alone

“It was a dark time, nothing made sense. I thought I was wrong in every aspect and no one could ever love me for who I was and the thing that got me through it all was love from my friends and family.  Always love.” – Nick Peters

“This picture is both haunting and chilling and indicative of how our LGBTQ children feel when they are not accepted & loved as God made them.” – Kelly Peters (Nick’s mom)



They say “a picture is worth a thousand words” and that is certainly the case with this haunting image that Nick Peters, a young gay man, drew when he was going through a difficult time.

I have a private Facebook group for moms of lgbt kids. We have more than 900 moms in the group and it keeps growing. It’s a wonderful community of moms who are trying to be the best moms they can be and who love their kids fiercely.

I often hear moms talking about the emotional and mental pain their LGBT kids endure when they face rejection, shunning, bullying, discrimination, teasing and harassment.

When Nick’s mom, Kelly, shared this picture the moms in our group immediately responded with compassion and understanding.

One mom summed it up well …

“this picture portrays fear, isolation and disappointment …. it reminds us of what is being done to our LGBT kids”

I’m so grateful to Nick for allowing me to share his drawing because it tells a story that needs to be told. 



If you want more info about the private Facebook group for moms of LGBT kids email lizdyer55@gmail.com

If you are thinking about suicide or are feeling alone and need someone to talk to, please call the Trevor Lifeline at 1-866-488-7386 for immediate help.

 


 PicMonkey Collage1234

