Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Stories have the power to change the world … they inspire us, teach us, connect us. This is the twenty-second installment in the “Stories That Change The World” series.

 

I have a private Facebook group for moms of LGBTQ kids. The group is Serendipitydodah for Moms and presently has more than 1,100 moms in the group. It’s a wonderful community of moms who are trying to be the best moms they can be and who love their kids fiercely. The group is a place where we share a lot of support, encouragement and wisdom as we learn to develop and maintain healthy, loving, authentic relationships with our LGBTQ kids.

The following story is from ‎Tammy Roberts‎, one of the members of Serendipitydodah for Moms.  Tammy recently posted the following on her personal Facebook page to announce her son’s engagement.  I’m grateful to Tammy for her permission to share it here on Serendipitydodah because I believe her words demonstrate both courage and love which are vital elements if we want to make the world a kinder, safer, more loving place.

For more info on the private Facebook group for moms of lgbt kids email lizdyer55@gmail.com and use “Mom’s Facebook Group” as the subject.

12802699_10100424059947898_7418081942237534199_n.jpg

I live in a small town in the Bible Belt of the south. I was raised Pentecostal, joined a Southern Baptist church at age 20 and raised my children to love God and family. I attend church every week at a little church at the end of a road that runs right into a cemetery. To say I’m conservative and traditional would be an understatement.

I am friends with you on Facebook either because I attend church with you, went to school with you, work or have worked with you, or you are family. Either way, it’s because you are all my friends and I love you. If there’s anyone I love more than my friends it’s my husband, my sons, my daughter in law and my precious grandson. I would never want to hurt any of you and would hope none of you would ever want to hurt me.

A time of joy has arrived in the life of my son, Caleb Roberts, that I do not want to keep to myself because it makes him and me so happy. Last night, Dario A. Bayardo proposed, and I will be gaining a son-in-law next year. I love this young man already like a son. The world would be a better place if there were more people in it like this selfless kind young man. I know what a hard time many of you will have with this because you were raised just like me. I respect and honor your convictions. I ask now that you respect mine. You never really understand a situation until you are in it.

For those of you who do not wish to see my future posts of joy and pride about my sons upcoming wedding, please either block me or unfriend me. I will never question your motives or be offended. I do ask that for those of you who choose to stay my friend and see my posts, please do not use Facebook as a forum to preach, use scriptures, or insert your political opinions where my son is concerned or I will unfriend you. Nobody on earth knows the scriptures regarding this issue better than me or my son.

You may ask yourself why I am writing this epistle and why I am even posting this information about my son if I don’t expect some negative feedback. After all, Facebook is social media and if one doesn’t want the feedback, don’t put it out there. The answer is this, for the last 8 years or so I have been sharing my joys and sorrows with all of you and sharing in your joys and sorrows as well. I refuse to not share this wonderful happy time in my life and my son’s life. I love you all and hope you can be happy for me.

Congratulations Dario and Caleb. I love you both!

