Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Stories have the power to change the world … they inspire us, teach us, connect us. This is the tenth installment in the “Stories That Change The World” series.

glass-breakage-286098_640

The following story was told by Derry Gleason in a private Facebook group for moms of LGBT kids.

What seems like eons ago, when I was all proud of myself for my newly accepting attitude of my gay children, my daughter started the conversation about marriage.

The girls hadn’t been dating long so the topic was relatively objective. At that time, my husband and I hadn’t considered it deeply. We were not supportive of gay marriage at that point and felt it was not God’s approved plan. We truly felt we would dishonor the Lord we love by participating.

When our daughter realized we wouldn’t be there – that her daddy would not walk her down the aisle and her mama wouldn’t make her dress, she was devastated.

The pain in our family was palpable.

She knew we wouldn’t approve but she didn’t realize it meant not participating at all.

We had thought it was understood, so we were equally blindsided by her reaction and the reaction of our sons.

Our daughter was crushed and our sons were livid.

Suddenly, our lives went from theoretical to crisis.

We had never considered rejecting our gay children, but now we were threatened with total rejection. Not so much by my daughter but unanimously by the three boys.

In the days of torment, crying out to the Lord, wanting to love Him and my children, He spoke to me. “Who is honored and glorified if your family is destroyed?”

There is a verse I claimed when my husband and I were engaged and it is on our wedding invitations and ny husband’s wedding ring.

Isaiah 55:13 “This will be for the LORD’s renown, for an everlasting sign, that will endure forever.”

That verse has gotten me through some tough times and remembering it triggered my question. “Who is honored and glorified if your family is destroyed?”

And then came the answer: “Only the Enemy.”

I called my daughter and I said “I will make your wedding dress and I will love who you love.”

My husband came to the same point through his own time with the Lord.

This was the pivotal point in stepping from accepting into affirming.

I say to all Christians, our Lord is not honored by the destruction of our families. These are the children God has knowingly and lovingly given us. We should love them in the light with thankfulness for they are beloved by God.

PS  My girls are still together and will be married at the end of September in all the pomp and circumstance they could desire!

************************

If you are interested in joining the private Facebook group for moms of lgbt kids send an email to lizdyer55@gmail.com and put “Mom’s Facebook Group” as the subject.