Tags

, , , , ,

Dodah I recently started a private Facebook group for moms of lgbtq kids. See … I had an idea back in 2009 … an idea to make the world a kinder, safer, more loving place for my son, who is gay. First, I started telling my story, Choosing Love. Shortly after my story was posted here I started speaking out in support of LGBTQ people in my everyday life and online. After connecting with some beautiful people online I started meeting up with them in real life at conferences and get togethers. With the encouragement and support of my new friends I started my Serendipitydodah blog in June 2010. Since then I have continued to connect with people who share my passion, learning from them and helping others along the way. One of the things I’ve noticed over the years is the lack of resources to help parents of LGBTQ kids learn how to love, accept, support, empower and celebrate their LGBTQ kids. There are more resources today than when my son came out but they are still sparse. Because of the lack of resources for parents I’ve decided to devote more time to Serendipitydodah, and I’ve recently created a private Facebook group called Serendipitydodah For Moms. The group is an extension of my blog and is created especially for moms who have LGBTQ kids and want to develop and maintain healthy, loving, authentic relationships with them. We presently have more than 200 members and continue to grow. The group is a place for moms of LGBTQ kids to build community, support one another, share information, ask questions, learn and grow together. It is my hope that those in the group will discover something unexpected … some piece of information – a friend – some helpful resources – a different perspective – love and grace – a new way – or something I can’t even imagine that will be helpful and hopeful in their quest to make the world a kinder, safer, more loving place for their lgbtq kids. If that happens … that’s a Serendipitydodah moment! If you are the mom of an LGBTQ kid and want to join the group please contact me at lizdyer55@gmail.com and put “Mom’s Facebook Group” in the subject line.

UPDATE: As of March 2016 we have grown to more than 1,000 members in the group! We are always ready to welcome more moms to our group. Please help us spread the word!

