Tags

, , , , , ,

The Mama Bear Story Project is a collection of portraits and autobiographical essays from members of Serendipitydodah – Home of the Mama Bears

My daughter was born a rainbow baby, after a previous loss. I was attacked at age 19 and my reproductive system badly damaged, but miraculously was able to carry her full term. We wanted to call her Phoenix, as she and I are rising from the ashes, but someone said it was a boy name and an awful choice. So, we went with Gabrielle Taylor (family reasons), but I always referred to her as my little Phoenix, my Pea.

So that she would know that, regardless of anything in life, I will always love and support her, I had her name tattooed on my spine as an Ambigram which reads Perfect Miracle the other way.

In our very equal rights house, she is raised under love is love, respect is a right. When she was about 4 she told me she was “bischmecshuwal.”

At age 10 she was diagnosed with Aspergers/ASD1, after a long road to figure out her struggles.

At age 13 she said she preferred to be called by her nickname Phoenix and told me she is queer and likes girls, only girls and not boys.

So, my rainbow baby is a rainbow 3 ways … birth after loss, spectrum and lgbtq!

To honor her, I updated my spine tattoo and put a Phoenix above her name with a rainbow tail to symbolize my endless support for her (and my) many struggles where we keep emerging from the ashes, and for our continued ability to. To know she can keep inventing herself and that struggles like spectrum don’t have to be hidden, but be her superpower too.

Hats off to all moms and all your journeys.

May we all keep rising.


Serendipitydodah – Home of the Mama Bears is a private Facebook group for moms of LGBTQ kids. The official motto of the group is “Better Together” and the members call themselves “Mama Bears”

The group is private so only members can see who is in the group and what is posted in the group. It was started in June 2014 and presently has more than 31,000 members.

For more info about the Mama Bears and all of our groups, programs and resources visit our website at realmamabears.org 

This story can also be viewed on the Mama Bear Story Project Facebook page.