Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The Mama Bear Story Project is a collection of portraits and autobiographical essays from members of Serendipitydodah – Home of the Mama Bears

MY ANSWER by Mama Bear Anna Garcia Lucas

“Are you open to the possibility you are wrong on the LGBTQ issue?”

“Are you willing to re-examine your position and change course if you realize you have been wrong?”

I’ve been asked this question as a Mama of queer kiddos, as a seminarian, as a friend and family member, and as someone who believes in God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit.

My answer?

“Yes. Yes, I considered it the first time my oldest son was 3 yrs old and displayed characteristics that he was “different.”

“Yes. Yes, I considered it the first time his biological father called him that horrible slur word. He was six and helping me sweep the kitchen, wearing my apron.”

“Yes. Yes, I considered it the first time he said he loved a boy. He was seven.”

“Yes. Yes, I considered it every single time someone physically assaulted him, abused him verbally, berated him, called him an abomination, and abandoned him.”

“Yes. Yes, I considered it as I held him in my arms following his suicide attempt (not the first and not the last) which I was called home for from a deployment to the Middle East. The lady at the Red Cross told me to be thankful he wasn’t brain dead.”

“Yes. Yes, I considered it as he sobbed because his biological father severed ties with him.”

“Yes. Yes, I considered it as my daughter came out as bisexual and, 8 years later, as my 12 year old came out as bisexual.”

“Yes. Yes, I considered it each and every time I’m brought back to the feeling I had when I carried them in my womb and when I held them in my arms and when they told me they loved me.”

Each time, I can conclusively say I wasn’t wrong then and I’m not wrong now.

My babies are beloved of God and loved by God.

They always were and they always will be.

I can say unequivocally to all LGBTQ+ people that I wasn’t wrong about them either.

They are all beloved of God and loved by God.

They always were and they always will be.

If I, as a human being, can love all queer people as I love my children, I cannot imagine how much more God loves them.


Serendipitydodah – Home of the Mama Bears is a private Facebook group for moms of LGBTQ kids. The official motto of the group is “Better Together” and the members call themselves “Mama Bears”

The group is private so only members can see who is in the group and what is posted in the group. It was started in June 2014 and presently has more than 31,000 members.

For more info about the Mama Bears and all of our groups, programs and resources visit our website at realmamabears.org 

This story can also be viewed on the Mama Bear Story Project Facebook page.