Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The Mama Bear Story Project is a collection of portraits and autobiographical essays from members of Serendipitydodah for Moms – a private Facebook group for open minded Christian moms of LGBTQ kids.

tammy-kalberg

I can remember the day my daughter told me she was dating a girl like it was yesterday. My immediate response to her was unconditional love, but it felt like someone had punched me in the gut, tears instantly came to my eyes. Those tears, though, were not because she was gay, but because I knew how our family would react, I knew she would be judged by others simply because of who she loved, I knew this ugly world would condemn and judge.

I was mad at God at first; mad that he would bring this child into a family like mine that I knew wouldn’t accept her. How could He do this, why would He do this? But then I realized, God gave her to me for a reason. He chose me to be her mom from the very beginning. He knew I would love unconditionally and fiercely, that I would never abandon her, and that I would always be there to accept and protect her. She did not choose this, she will tell you that. Being gay is not a choice. It is who you are. God did not create this child of mine to be condemned to hell or to never feel love or be loved by someone. He created her just as she is.

She has taught me so many things in the last couple of years. She has opened my eyes to seeing things differently. She has made me stop and think more. She has taught me to love more, love deeper, love purer. She has taught me to be less judgmental and more accepting of people or things that are different. She taught me simply, to just love.

I look at her now and I know that she is finally free. Free to be herself, no hiding, no holding back. She is who she is and she loves it. She feels joy and happiness. She knows love, she feels love and she gives love. She is her most authentic self ever. I am proud of her, so very proud to be her mom. She will most definitely change this world!

My heart goes out to kids whose parents abandon them or refuse to accept them when they come out. I am thankful that my daughter never had to feel that. It has been on my heart lately to get involved somehow, to see if I can help other kids when they come out. Just to let them know they are OK, that they are loved, that there are people who care. Just to give them a mom hug.

There was only one thing I really ever wanted in this life and it was to be a mom. God blessed me with two beautiful and amazing daughters. I was always a mama bear, but this certainly, has made me even more so now. I will die loving them, fighting for them, protecting them and always being there for them. I will forever be their #1 fan and cheerleader. There is simply, nothing better.

________________________________________________

Serendipitydodah for Moms is a private Facebook group for moms of LGBTQ kids. Our official motto is “We Are Better Together” and our nickname is “Mama Bears” The group is private so only members can see who is in the group and what is posted in the group. It was started in June 2014 and presently has more than 1,500 members. For more info email lizdyer55@gmail.com